Peanut Butter Kisses

Christmas is such a special time of year and my parents provided my sister and I with such wonderful memories growing up.  One of my favorite memories was baking Christmas cookies with my mom and then delivering those cookies to friends and family members.  I loved helping her in the kitchen make the numerous batches of cookies.  We would make sugar cookies, gingerbread men, peppermint melt-away candies, spritz, snowballs, vanilla covered pretzels, and peanut butter kiss cookies.  I have tried to follow my mom’s example and have made cookies for friends and coworkers.  This year, due to small kitchen and time, I am making just two recipes, peanut butter kisses and vanilla covered pretzels.  I do love snowballs though, so I might try to get those done as well.

My husbands favorite are the kisses and since the recipe is pretty easy, I thought Eilam would like to help.  We had entered a contest for Country Pasta on Facebook and had received a bunch of baking utensils aimed for kids.  He was very excited to use these to help make cookies.  My secret to making these really great is don’t overcook them and to place the kiss while just a few minutes after they come out of the oven.  The kiss melts but maintains it shape and after the cookie cools still has a softer consistency.

20151208_093639

IMG_7407

IMG_7416

PEANUT BUTTER KISSES

Prep Time:  10 minutes         Cook Time:  10 minutes          Makes: about 30 cookies

 INGREDIENTS

  • 1 3/4 C flour
  • 1/2 C sugar (plus  some to roll the balls in)
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C butter
  • 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TBSP milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Hershey kisses

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Heat over to 350 degrees
  2. Mix the dry ingredients
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix.  I use a KitchenAid mixer.
  4. Roll the dough into approximately 1 inch balls.
  5. Place the extra sugar onto a plate and roll the balls in the sugar.
  6. Place on an ungreased baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes
  8. Remove and let cool for a couple minutes then place a chocolate kiss in the middle of each cookie.
  9. Allow to cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

